Follow

Exchange Hosting - How Do I Delete A Mailbox And User?

Prerequisites

Hosted Exchange Email.

 

Summary

This article will demonstrate how to delete both a mailbox, and a user.

 


 

Before deleting a mailbox, there are some important considerations to be aware of. First, and foremost before deleting a mailbox it is important to back it up to a PST file, as demonstrated in the support articles; Export Mail Outlook 2007, and Export Mail Outlook 2010. This will preserve the data in the event of premature, or accidental deletion. Furthermore as noted in the SLA, recovery of a deleted mailbox incurs a charge. Secondly deleting a mailbox does not delete a user just their mailbox. Only deleting a user will delete every service attached to it such as BES, CRM, and SharePoint. Until the user account is deleted setting up post email delivery services such as distribution lists, or aliases under another mailbox will not be possible. Finally deleting a mailbox does not remove the mailbox charge from an account. The services quota must be decreased via the Billing Control Panel, by removing hosted services.

1. In a web browser navigate to the ITSolutionsNow services control panel:  https://cp.myhostedsolution.com/


cp-splash600s.jpg

2. Click on Hosted Organizations.


cp-home-ho600s.jpg

3. Click on the organization name.


cp-ho-on600s.jpg

4. The organization home page will now be displayed.

If you only want to delete the mailbox and not the user account, on the left side of the page the active services will be displayed, under the Exchange section click Mailboxes.

 

If you want to delete both the User Account and the mailbox, go to "Delete a User Account" below.  Deleting the user account will delete both.


cp-ho-mbx.jpg

5. After the Mailboxes section loads locate the mailbox that need deletion and click the Red X next to the name.


cp-ho-mbx-del.jpg

6. Confirm deletion of the mailbox by clicking OK. User mailbox data will now be deleted, but the user account will remain.


cp-ho-mbx-cdel.jpg

 

Delete a User Account

1. Follow the first three steps from above. Once on the organization home page click Users found under the Organization's section.


cp-ho-mbx-del.jpg

2. Locate the user account pending deletion, and click the Red X next to the username.


cp-ho-mbx.jpg

3. Confirm deletion of the mailbox by clicking OK. By deleting the user all services attached to that particular user will be removed.


cp-ho-mbx-cdel.jpg

 

What Is Next?

Add An Email Alias,

Create A Distribution List & Optionally Enable Send As Permissions,

Remove Hosted Services (Must be done to remove from monthly invoice!!!)

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.